Julius Eastman Project

The American composer, pianist, singer and dancer Julius Eastman (1940-1990) has only in recent years been rediscovered and celebrated by a younger generation of musicians. Through his innovative arrangements and political provocation, he was one of the most dazzling figures of the minimal music scene that was emerging in New York in the 1970s. Eastman was one of the first to combine compositional techniques of minimal music with pop elements. His vision of "organic music" and his creative openness gave new impetus to the minimal music movement.

The first performance of Julius Eastman's "Stay On It," performed by an eight-piece all-female ensemble, took place at Week-End Fest in October 2021. The ensemble will perform another piece from the composer's repertoire on their upcoming tour, which will also stop for a two-day residency at London's renowned Cafe OTO.

Mon, 19.09.2022
Concert Highlight!

Jorik Bergman (arrangement, conduction, flute), Johanna Klein (alto saxophone), Luise Volkmann (alto saxophone), Maripepa Contreras (oboe), Carla Köllner (trombone), Minhye Ko (mallet percussion), Chae Yeon Lee (piano), Mareike Wiening (drums)

Pop, Minimal Music

concert hall Start 20:00 Doors 19:00

18 € Presale Please note: vendors of presale-tickets may charge additional fees. 20 € Box Office nur Barzahlung

Order Tickets Tickets also available here

External Links weitere Informationen YouTube

Add to Calendar Download iCal-File

Receive Newsletter

By registering my e-mail address in the left-sided box "Receive Newsletter" I agree that the Initiative Kölner Jazz Haus e.V. is allowed to regularly send me information about concerts, events and news in this context via e-mail. My agreement can be revoked at any time. Further information on the use of the consent included in the agreement with our newsletter-service provider MailChimp, the use of cookies and your right of revocation can be found within our privacy policy.