(((Livestream))) Bundesjazzorchester: Leitung Matthias Schriefl

Under the direction of Matthias Schriefl, the Bundesjazzorchester (BuJazzO) will present the ALPENJAZZ program in the summer of 2021. Intersections between alpine folk music, jazz and contemporary grooves will be explored and lead to new highlights. The creative soloists of the Bundesjazzorchester will be given the opportunity to enrich the alpine jazz style with their own impulses. The freedom of the rhythm section is particularly close to Schriefl's heart. Excursions into the world of 20s and 30s Schlager, new yodeling techniques and humorous titles such as "We want a clear view of the Mediterranean, the mountains must go!" await the audience.
The Bundesjazzorchester (BuJazzO) is the official youth jazz orchestra of the Federal Republic of Germany. Outstanding young musicians have been demonstrating their joy of playing, virtuosity and art of improvisation here for more than 30 years. Founded in 1988 by Peter Herbolzheimer, the Bundesjazzorchester is today regarded as an excellent talent factory for future professional jazz musicians.
Matthias Schriefl, born in 1981, grew up on the edge of the Alps in Maria Rain in the Allgäu. At the age of 15, he became the youngest member of the Bundesjazzorchester. From 2000 to 2005 he studied jazz trumpet in Cologne and Amsterdam. From 2008 to 2010, he toured Europe's major concert halls with his band Shreefpunk as a "Rising Star" of the European Concert Hall Organization. After that he experimented mainly with alpine music. In 2012, he released the multiple award-winning album with Six, Alps & Jazz on ACT in the "Young German Jazz" series. Until today, new CD recordings with various bands have followed regularly, in which he, as a musician and composer, writes his pieces as if "tailor-made" for his respective fellow musicians.

Sat, 21.08.2021
Concert Highlight!

Julius van Rhee (alt sax), Martin Löcken (alt sax), Adrian Gallet (tenor sax), Max Treutner (tenor sax), bari sax (Charlotte Lang), Florian Raepke (tp), Dominic Leitgeb (tp), Christian Höhn (tp), Jakob Bänsch (tp), Linus Berg (tb), Philipp Hayduk (tb), Simeon Prause (tb), Friedrich Falkenhagen (btb), Felix Konradt (tuba), Max Löbner (git), Niklas Roever (p), Jan Blikslager (b), Simon Bräumer (dr), Kimberly Crawford (Geige), Barbara Grahor (Bratsche), Alma Naidu (voc s), Patricija Skof (voc a), Ferdinand Büchner (voc t), Emil Wahlgren (voc b)

Jazz (Big Band)

concert hall Start 20:00

External Links Website

Add to Calendar Download iCal-File

In cooperation with

Receive Newsletter

By registering my e-mail address in the left-sided box "Receive Newsletter" I agree that the Initiative Kölner Jazz Haus e.V. is allowed to regularly send me information about concerts, events and news in this context via e-mail. My agreement can be revoked at any time. Further information on the use of the consent included in the agreement with our newsletter-service provider MailChimp, the use of cookies and your right of revocation can be found within our privacy policy.