Fuchsthone Orchestra © Artist

Fuchsthone Orchestra

Bitte beachten Sie die geltenden Hygienevorschriften: Zutritt zu unseren Konzerten wird Ihnen gewährt, wenn Sie entweder einen Nachweis über die vollständige Impfung, über eine Genesung oder einen negativen Schnelltest vorweisen können.

The FUCHSTHONE ORCHESTRA, recently nominated for the German Jazz Award in the category "Large Ensemble of the Year", will present its new program "Reloaded #2" on August 27th under the direction of Christina Fuchs and Caroline Thon, continuing its concert series in the Stadtgarten that started in September 2020. The two composers are keen to experiment and develop their repertoire together with the ensemble in a constant process, modulating with and through electronics and constantly challenging the fantastic musicians anew. After the highly acclaimed premiere of the FUCHSTHONE ORCHESTRA in autumn 2019, we can look forward to exciting sound experiences combined with the greatest joy of playing.

Even the Corona Pandemic could not stop the orchestra: with an adapted ensemble size, open air, livestream or video production, musicians and directors continue to work creatively with the given possibilities.

The FUCHSTHONE ORCHESTRA unites 19 outstanding and award-winning musicians from Cologne and stands for a new, orchestral sound that transcends genre-specific boundaries and takes the listener on a spectacular sound journey. The two composers Christina Fuchs and Caroline Thon are leading exponents of contemporary, large-scale jazz and have two decades of experience in leading large orchestras (United Women's Orchestra, Thoneline Orchestra, Soundscapes Orchestra).

Surprisingly fresh are their ideas for a new, joint ensemble that, with electronics as a supporting element, goes far beyond the concepts of big band and contemporary jazz.

Fri, 27.08.2021
Concert Highlight!

Christina Fuchs (composition; conduction, arrangement), Caroline Thon (composition, conduction, arrangement), Martin Gasser, Julian Bossert, Francois Ribeaupierre, Susanne Weidinger (saxes), Christian Mehler, John-Denis Renken, Matthias Bergmann (trumpets), Philipp Schittek, Matthias Schuller (trombones), Wolf Schenk (basstrombone, tuba), Zuzana Leharovà (violin), Filippa Gojo (voice), Laia Genc (piano), Andreas Wahl (guitar), Alex Morsey (bass), Jens Düppe (drums), Eva Pöpplein (electronics, live samples)

Electronica, Jazz (Big Band), Experimental

concert hall Start 20:00 Doors 19:00

18 €/12 € red. Presale Please note: vendors of presale-tickets may charge additional fees.

Order Tickets ticket i/O

Add to Calendar Download iCal-File

This event is supported by

Receive Newsletter

By registering my e-mail address in the left-sided box "Receive Newsletter" I agree that the Initiative Kölner Jazz Haus e.V. is allowed to regularly send me information about concerts, events and news in this context via e-mail. My agreement can be revoked at any time. Further information on the use of the consent included in the agreement with our newsletter-service provider MailChimp, the use of cookies and your right of revocation can be found within our privacy policy.